Guns n Roses now investment bankers!

Posted on April 21, 2012

0


Guns n Roses‘ Appetite for Destruction was hands down, the album that rocked my youth.  To this day, I only have to hear the first electric twang of the Paradise City lead guitar to re-compose in my mind the entire 7-minute stadium rock-out score in ecstatic nuanced detail.

Now pushing 50, and broken up, the former members are still making headlines this year by finally being inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, whether they like it or not.

I have to say, it was hard to notice anyone past the 2 ego-vortices of frontmen: W. Axl Rose with his banshee wail and pear shampoo silk hair rocketing trashy trailerdom into metal heaven, and Slash with his muppety top hat and wig-of-curls, which securely held together the golden spasms of his genius riffs and 8 years of self-told alcoholic stupor.  And his sweaty Moroccan?-Latino?-3/4 Lenny Kravitz? torso.

Just coming out of my single digit age, Izzy Stradlin reminded me of the Blueberry Pie Man and Steve Adler and Duff McKagan had big teased blond hair, which made me lose them in the haze of hairspray of the emo-macho dichotomy that was the late 80’s’ rock and roll scene.

But now, as an adult, imagine my delight when I discovered that Duff McKagan, 48 and a father of 2 little girls, was recently on the news saying that he went back to business school to become Financially Literate and has started a financial advisory business, Meridian Rock, to help young artists, actors and athletes become educated on how to pace their money, so that they do not become washed up after their super-star career ends.  How rock and roll is THAT??!! 🙂  Watch it:

Posted in: Uncategorized